top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMartin Pike

Marathon Meltdown

Updated: Jan 4, 2022

It's been a while - 4 months since Race to the King and they've been tricky months.

Very shortly after my RTTK high I played a 5-a-side game with friends which resulted in rolling my ankle for the 2nd time this year. This time around it was worse however with the popping sound leaving me in no doubt I'd have to have some time out.

Although I tried to struggle through for a while my training fell off a cliff, I saw a physio, spent time away from running and generally felt low. The recovery has now seemingly repaired my ankle but I seem to have some residual pain from the tendon tethering due to stiffness (which I'm working on).


The bigger impact has been on my plans - Brighton Marathon was a write off and deferred to next year and post injury I was left with 8 weeks to go from 0-km a week back up to something respectable for the Manchester Marathon. I took the opportunity to get more involved in the running club and have used their speed sessions on Tuesdays along with longer runs on Thursdays to supplement my weekend running. I've been unable to get anywhere near the mileage I was doing pre-RTTK with the slow build but it's getting there whilst giving me some new enjoyment of shorter speed sessions (including a new Mile PB).


Come race day for Manchester and I was optimistic for a good time (3:30) but didn't do the things I needed to do to achieve that.

- I prepared badly (late night and a couple of ciders the night before).

- I was short on long run fitness (only 3no runs above 25km in the previous 10 weeks and maximum length of 28km).

- I didn't hydrate well enough (see first point also)

- I felt daunted by the distance even though I had ran double that earlier in the year.


The event itself was wonderful and the weather great. I enjoyed the melee of people, the fantastic atmosphere of loads of people all in one place with one simple goal. And although I had little camaraderie on route from fellow runners (largely as I was just focused) I had a great time post race with new friends from my running club.


The result was that for 25km I ran well, felt great and was almost 4 mins below my target time. Some short hills around Altrincham then ruined my race as cramps systematically sent pain through each leg in turn with each muscle cramping one after the other as they compensated for my form falling apart. I had to run, stretch


With the help of the crowd I dragged myself to the finish in 3hr 47 which is a bit of a miracle considering how I was struggling. I was dissapointed whilst running as I knew there was more in me. I had ran that time roughly in my first unofficial marathon during lockdown around the Ashridge estate (not flat) last year and I know I would have easily beaten it with a greater degree of conditioning - my energy levels were good, just body letting me down.


It is with that I reflect and note that you can't short cut these things - a marathon is hard work (and personally I found it harder than RTTK). I knew I was short by about 5 weeks in terms of lead up and it told.


Next step is to cut back on shorter term plan (sadly not going to enter Druids Challenge across the ridgeway) and I will work towards a longer term 100 mile goal in May (with the Brighton Marathon being used as a training run in April). Back to the long and slow runs which have bought me the greatest success so far.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by My Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page